United States Air Force Academy

Go to home page
Images, The Academy

USAFA Class of ’18 grad named Mountain West Female Scholar Athlete of Year

Jinan AndrewsU.S. Air Force Athletic Department, July 19, 2018

U.S. AIR FORCE ACADEMY, Colo. — Air Force swimmer Jinan Andrews was named the 2017-18 Mountain West Female Scholar Athlete of the Year, July 19 by the league office.

The MW Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award was established by the MW Joint Council in 1999 and is highest honor the Conference presents to a student-athlete.

The award is given annually to a man and woman who best exemplify “student-athlete” by achieving excellence in academics, athletics and community involvement during their intercollegiate career. Along with athletic achievement, recipients of the award must maintain a minimum 3.5 GPA, demonstrate leadership, and exhibit good character and conduct on and off the playing field.

Andrews graduated from the Air Force Academy in May with a bachelor’s of science in systems engineering. She was the women’s swim team captain for the 2017-18 season and set several Academy records, including the 100-freestyle, 200-freestyle, and 800-freestyle relays. Overall, Andrews is on the Air Force’s top 10 list in seven events

The Sussex, New Jersey native excelled in the classroom and maintained 3.72 GPA, ranking her 22nd out of 1,008 in her graduating class. She made the Dean’s List every year of her cadet career, routinely made the Superintendent and Dean’s Lists and the Athletic Director’s Honor Roll. She also won the Lindsey Brown Sportsmanship Award.

Andrews has been named an Academic All-Mountain West athlete since 2016 and won the Mountain West Senior Recognition Award this year. In addition, she visited five schools in New Jersey and Colorado to highlight the importance of math and science education.

Since graduating, 2nd Lt. Andrews was selected to be one of six former cadets to spend three weeks at Ramstein Air Force Base, Germany, to learn about Air Force operations in Europe and Southwest Asia.

Andrews is the eighth Air Force student-athlete to earn the MW Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, joining Rebecca Esselstein (women’s cross country/track, 2014-15), Eric Robinson (men’s swimming/diving, 2010-11), Abigail Rogers (women’s gymnastics, 2008-09), Blair Leake (women’s swimming/diving, 2006-07), Matt Karmondy (men’s swimming/diving, 2005-06), Delavane Diaz (women’s volleyball, 2003-04) and John Dayton (men’s swimming/diving, 2002-03).