United States Air Force Academy

Go to home page

Dozens of class of ’22 grads earn prestigious scholarships

line of cadets, Class of 2022 scholarship recipients (Joshua Armstrong/U.S. Air Force Academy)

By Ray Bowden
U.S. Air Force Academy Strategic Communications

U.S. AIR FORCE ACADEMY, Colo. – Scores of second lieutenants who graduated from the U.S. Air Force Academy last month will enter master’s degree programs courtesy of a variety of scholarships, including several sponsored by the Academy’s Foundation.

Class of 2022 scholarship recipients will study at Carnegie Mellon; Georgia Institute of Technology; Harvard’s John F. Kennedy School of Government; MIT; Stanford; Oxford; Cambridge; and other institutions of higher learning.

“The quality of our curriculum and dedication of cadets to their academic coursework is evident by the nearly 100 graduating cadets who received prestigious national and international scholarships this year,” said Brig. Gen. Linell Letendre, the Academy’s dean of the faculty. “These recipients build on the educational foundation they received at the Academy and truly embody learning is a lifelong endeavor.”

All scholarship recipients are second lieutenants in the Air Force and Space Force.

Carnegie Mellon University (Pennsylvania)
— Jessi Jenkins and Kyle Samuels – international relations and politics

Georgia Institute of Technology
— William Boswell; Seth Breyfogle; Andrew Clapp; John Evans; Celina Guan; Matthew Kuczajda; Grant Schlichting; and Jacob Szymanski – aerospace engineering
— Cason Couch and Brooke Howell – electrical and computer engineering
— Maxwell DiLalla – cybersecurity
— Matthew Kiesel – math and data analytics
— Lindsey Lucas – operations research

Harvard’s John F. Kennedy School of Government (Massachusetts)
— Sydney Hansen, Michelle Roca and Isaac Van Wert – public policy

Knight-Hennessy (California)
— Fran Verville and Justin Yates – international policy

The Knight-Hennessy scholarship supports multidisciplinary, multicultural graduate students across Stanford University.

Marshall (U.K.)
— Sam Brody – engineering science at Oxford University
— Ally Burba – gender and international relationships at Bristol University

The Marshall scholarship finances young Americans of high ability to study for a graduate degree in the U.K.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Boston)
— Grant Appel; Brittany Bishop; Courtney Kirkpatrick; Kendra Middleton; and Benjamin Waters – aeronautics and astronautics
— Samuel Karlson – nuclear science and engineering
— Lauren Blanks – technology policy
— Luke Hardy – mechanical engineering
— Kyle Thomas – operations research
— Evan Marrone and Cameron Cubra – business analytics

National Science Foundation (Georgia Tech)
— Jacob Szymanski – aerospace engineering

Northeastern University (Boston)
— Frank Rossi – computer science

Purdue University (Indiana)
— Ritesh Gautam; Sean Geither; Harmont Grenier; Andrew Jariga; Shane Oatman; Drew Priest; Thomas McLean; Adam Moeller; and Erin Shea – aeronautics and astronautics
— Nestor Levin – chemical engineering
— Grant Davis – civil engineering
— Ricardo De Bastos – electrical and computer engineering

Pardee RAND Graduate School (California)
— Yun Ro – PhD in policy analysis

The RAND Corporation is a U.S. nonprofit policy think tank.

Rice University (Texas)
— Adam Broshkevitch and Noah Pritchard – mechanical engineering

Texas A&M (Texas)
— Charles Atkinson and John Pallotta – aeronautical engineering

University of Washington (Washington)
— Jarrett Van Dyke – aeronautical engineering

Academy Foundation Scholarships
Six Class of 2022 graduates received scholarships sponsored by the U.S. Air Force Academy Foundation, the school’s fundraising arm.
— John Koehler Gerhart Fellowship (University of Strasbourg, France): Wedgide Bourdeau – language and society

— Holaday scholarship (University of Oxford, U.K.): Adrienne Eckstein – engineering science

The Holaday Scholarship is an annual scholarship that allows one cadet who competes for but does not receive a Rhodes scholarship to do graduate work at Oxford. The scholarship funds two years of graduate study for a master’s degree in any field.

— Lawson scholarship (Catholic University, Washington D.C.): Jack Erwin – philosophy

The Lawson scholarship is awarded to an outstanding cadet in one of the humanities.

— Earl and Marion Nutter Trust (Carnegie Mellon): Kyle Samuels – international relationships and politics

— Ethics scholarship (Kennedy Institute of Ethics, Georgetown University, Washington DC): Kayla Steiner – Latin American Studies

— Colonel Franklin C. Wolfe Scholarship (University of Virginia): Eric Miller – English

Air Force and Space Force scholarships
Seven Class of 2022 graduates received Air Force and Space Force Scholarships.

The DAWN – Developing America’s Workforce Nucleus – scholarship recipients are:
— Ryan Chen – aeronautics and astronautics at Stanford
— Sam Brody – engineering science at Oxford
— Carson McLaughlin – physics at Cambridge
— Molly Ellinger – mechanical engineering at University of Texas
— Jacob Szymanski – aerospace engineering at Georgia Tech

The U.S. Space Force Scholars Program Scholarship recipients are Zachary Rotzal who will study computer science at Stanford and Eve Schoenrock who will study data science at the University of Virginia.